Survey Spot Fraud Warning

Posted: May 18, 2008 in Uncategorized

I thought I would pass this one along to my readers. Survey Spot is a sound organization and legit. The bottom feeders have targeted this organization in the hope of stealing a few identies.
Shame, Shame, Shame.

FRAUD WARNING

We are aware that in recent weeks the SurveySpot likeness has been used fraudulently. If you have received any mailed correspondence with the SurveySpot/Survey Sampling International logo which includes an unexpected check and/or instructions to send a MoneyGram, wire transfer or other form of payment to anyone, please do not attempt to cash the check, send any money or follow through with any other procedure outlined in the letter. This correspondence did not come from SurveySpot, and it is not a valid offer. SSI and SurveySpot never ask respondents, panelists or job applicants to send money or make any payment or funds transfer of any kind.

If you were contacted in this manner, we strongly urge you to file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission, and/or the United States Postal Service.

Comments
  1. Aley C says:

    I found this great site that has paid surveys and I thought I’d share it with you! You build up points and once you want to cash out you just send an email and you get your money within a week.

    http://www.directiveanalytics.com/join_our_panel.php

  2. Verified says:

    Yes a great site, after hundreds of surveys I made a total of $11.00 USD, comes to around $0.05 USD an hour.Recommend it highly if one is bored or have a lot of time to waste.

  3. gariell says:

    Verified,
    You’re right, this is certainly no way to make any real money. The only ones who seem to be making any money are the affiliates who try to get other to sign up.
    Cheers

  4. Donna B says:

    These Survey Spot impersonators forged my signature on thousands of $4995. checks on my business account and ripped off many trusting individuals. My bank of course returned all the checks and I was forced to close my account. My account number was stolen from a check I mailed at the U.S. Post Office. BEWARE< BEWARE

  5. benji says:

    i recived a letter with a 2,980 check from survey spot inc
    and now have to close my account and negative record

  6. I did arround 30 20 minutes surveys and i stil wayt for may money,
    Iwant to know werw is may money

  7. tzaddik21 says:

    i just tried out panda research and found out they were a scam. i immediately cancelled my account

  8. gariell says:

    tzaddik21,
    Happy to hear and also glad you found the site, good work
    Cheers fro G.

  9. Rob says:

    I just started on this site…recommended by someone…hope to make a little money…but starting to seem like a lot of work :)

  10. ben says:

    What do you mean Trying to act like ssi/surveyspot. I think survey spot is a scam itself! Those scabs try to not pay people every week survey spot sucks

  11. NOTICE TO THOSE SO STUPID TO FALL INTO THESE TYPES OF SCAMS LIKE SURVEY SPOT. OF COURSE, THEY’RE A SCAM! DO YOU SEE THE WHOLE WORLD DOING IT? HELL NO!! YOU ALL NEED TO USE WISDOM AND KNOW THAT SOMETHING TO GOOD TO BE TRUE ALWAYS IS. SURVEY SPOT PROMISES YOU POINTS, OR MAYBE MONEY. BUT IN ORDER TO GET MONEY FROM SURVEY SPOT YOU NEED TO TRY THEIR PRODUCTS THAT COME TO YOUR DOOR. SUPPOSE TO BE “FREE” SURVEYS. RIGHT? HELL NO!! THEY’LL SCAM YOU TILL YOU HAVE NO MONEY. YOU ALL GO GET A REAL JOB AND QUITE COMPLAINING. OKAY? GOOD LUCK!! EVERYONE WAS BORN WITH A BRAIN. RIGHT? USE THAT BRAIN OR YOU’LL LOSE YOU BRAIN. THINK OF ANIMAL’S THEY’RE SMARTER THAN MOST HUMAN’S. RIGHT? THIS IS TO SURVEY SPOT, QUIT SCAMMING AND FRAUDING OVER THE INTERNET. GOOD DAY!!

  12. TO SURVEY SPOT, WHY DO YOU WANT TO BULL-SHIT ALL THESE STUPID PEOPLE THAT FALL FOR YOUR BULL-SHIT? SO WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO ABOUT IT? MAKE ME QUIT TALKING ABOUT YOUR SCAMMING BUSSINESS. YOU CAN’T STOP ME. RIGHT? HOPEFULLY YOU’LL GET IN TROUBLE FOR SCAMMING THESE STUPID PEOPLE.

  13. SURVEY SPOT ALWAYS PAYS WITH POINTS. RIGHT? WHEN CAN YUO PAY YOUR BILLS WITH POINTS? IN MY COUNTRY WE NEED THOSE DOLLAR BILLS. RIGHT? THEY’RE MAKING MILLIONS DOING A FRAUD BUSSINESS. YOU ALL GET A REAL JOB. AND DELETE ALL OF THESE SURVEY SPOTS. GOOD DAY!!

  14. survey spot is trying to get all the people like yourself to fall for their bull-shit!! everyone out there use your wisdom and know that any company wanting to pay you with points and give you promises is a sure scam like survey spot!! survey spot you all need to close your bussiness and quite trying to be the good guy’s. sandra

  15. you’re all scammer’s!!! survey spot i am talking about you!! sandra

  16. ATTENTION: THOSE READING THIS KNOW THAT “SURVEY SPOT” IS THE BIGGEST SCAM IN THE WORLD. BE CAUTIOUS WITH “SURVEY SPOT”. THEY ONLY LIKE TO AWARD WITH POINTS. WHAT A JOKE! TRY TO BUY A HOUSE OR VEHICLE WITH POINTS. WHAT A LAUGH. I WILL PLAN TO POST THEIR SCAM EVERYWHERE. GOOD DAY, SANDAR

  17. james says:

    Sandra, thank you for your opinion. Now shut the fuck up.

  18. shaun says:

    surveyspot will delete you after so long with an account happened to me 3 times, they wont cash you out either so be careful they do pay alot but the have some surveys where youll get 30mins in them just to opt you out when ur not even finished and dont fall for the 2 day- 1 week surveys they never go threw other then those scams there ok i just dont believe its fair for 30mins of my time for 50 points or a survey entry so be careful on any survey website there all a scam in there own way but some do pay

  19. Molly says:

    I’ve belonged to Survey Spot for almost eight years. In all that time, I think I’ve made maybe $25 per year (you earn points for the surveys you take, and are completed, then you have to have a certain amount of points to cash in – I think you have to have at least 10,000 points to get a measly $5 or $10.) A lot of the surveys, after halfway into it, inform me I don’t qualify. This is for surveys where I know I qualify, like “Do you own a pet”. Yes I do, several different kinds. Maybe the reason I don’t qualify for half of these surveys is age (I’m 63), area of the country in which I live, gender, or ethnic group. They used to allow us to play a scratch off game at the end of a survey, even for those with which we didn’t qualify. to give is a chance at winnings in a drawing. Have never won a THING in all this time, and now they’ve taken that little perk away. Unless you’re willing to spend eight hours a day, seven days a week, taking surveys (some of us have a life), Survey Spot stinks, you do not earn the money you think you will, and it just clutters up your email In Box with surveys for which you probably don’t qualify. Don’t waste your time. If you need a little extra cash, get a part time job at McDonald’s, you’ll make more money.

  20. Pauline says:

    Survey Spot seems to work great for the first month or two. Then they randomly cancelled my membership. When I emailed them to find out what was going on, they made a bogus accusation that I had somehow violated their terms of service and therefore they had the right to terminate my account without notice and forfeit my points. WHAT??? In no way did I violate any terms of service. I know, because I read these terms very thoroughly when they sent me the link. Highly suspect that they conveniently made this mistake just before I would finally have qualified to redeem some points after investing quite a bit of time finding surveys they would actually allow me to complete, many of which took much longer than the estimated time to complete that was advertised in the email. This company is a scam and a waste of your time.

  21. Ed says:

    In reference to Pauline’s comments of October 8th 2010, I was also told by surveyspot that I had ‘violated their terms and conditions’ which I certainly did not. I accumulated over $40 in my account and when I emailed surveyspot asking them what provision of their terms and conditions I had allegedly violated I got a return email just stating the same thing…’that I had violated their terms and conditions’. I even called their Shelton, Connecticut office and left several messages for a SUSAN EVANS at (203) 225-6191 and never got a return phone call. If anyone who reads this has had a similar problem with surveyspot (SSI, LLC.) contact me at itquotes@aol.com because I have an attorney interested in filing a class-action law suit against them.

  22. Pauline says:

    I finally did receive a resolution to the problem I mentioned in a former post. SurveySpot had deleted my membership and informed me that I had violated my terms and conditions, which was false. After numerous failed attempts to contact them for more information and to correct the mistake, I finally contacted the Better Business Bureau. I described the problem in detail, noting the dates I had attempted to contact them and the reference number listed in the original email they sent me.

    Shortly thereafter, I received an email from the BBB, saying that SurveySpot had responded to my complaint. I never did receive an email from SurveySpot or any response directly from them, but when I went to the BBB report, I was able to see what they had to say. They claimed that the email I had received from they stating that I had violated their terms and conditions was a mistake and that my membership had been reactivated. I was then able to go back to redeem my rewards points.

    Hopefully this will help anyone else who is having a similar problem. It is my experience that SurveySpot will not respond to any email inquiries regarding this problem, but if you complain to the Better Business Bureau, your problem will be resolved quickly. This is not a very good indicator of their level of customer service, but it does solve the problem. I’m not sure if I will continue to use SurveySpot after this experience. The whole thing left a pretty bad taste in my mouth and was quite a lot of trouble just to get a measley couple of bucks for all the time I invested into taking their surveys.

  23. Paul says:

    Beware of these scammers! When you get a large total they will stop your account with no explanation. Works well until you accumulate any points. Don’t waste your time with SurveySpot. By the way they have the worst customer service – don’t respond to questions or complaints.

  24. M.L. says:

    @Pauline and Ed

    The same thing happened to me this month! I had just redeemed $150 via PayPal (which was a headache because their site was not working most of the time) and doing a 5 day study for $20 about Milk usage and purchases (did not work for the last couple days of the study) and contacted them. Never received a response but logged into my account and saw that my account was being terminated because of violation of the Terms and Conditions. Did not receive an e-mail.

    Best,

    Marvin Lewis

  25. ED says:

    CLASS ACTION AGAINST SSI: SSI scammed me out of $41 and I complained to the BBB in Connecticut but it was useless. SSI terminated my membership alledging I ‘violated one or more of their terms and conditions’ but never would admit as to which term or condition I allegedly violated, READ: They didn’t want to pay me for my work. I have an attorney who has several other complaintants that also got scammed by SSI and the list is growing daily. If you’d like to be on the short list of people who will be awarded the most $$$ send me an email at itquotes@aol.com with your phone number so I can call you. The law firm will work on a contingent basis and they have a great track record of winning these kinds of class action lawsuits. SSI is an organization that needs a swift kick in the backside and some public attention. My attorney is also planning a media-blitz so other people who have been scammed by SSI can jump on board. SSI will be made an example of. -Ed

  26. Pauline says:

    It’s been less than 3 months since the last time I posted about SurveySpot deleting my membership and then reactivating it when I complained to the Better Business Bureau. Now it’s happening again! I noticed that I haven’t received emails from them the past couple of days (I usually get 2-3 per day at least), so I checked my email inbox and found out the last one I received was on Jan. 15th. I clicked to take the survey from the last email I received, went through the entire thing, got to the final page stating that the survey was complete and asking me to rate the survey. At the end, I clicked on “take me to my account,” and guess what? They wouldn’t log me in. AGAIN. Same thing as last time – login failed, password retrieval failed, and I got the message “profile information missing.” I sent an email to SurveySpot, stating that this is the second time this has happened, reminded them that I never got resolution last time until I went through BBB, and requested that the reactivate my membership in full and tell me when this problem is going to be solved. Who knows when I’ll get a response, but I’ll update when I hear something.

Leave a Reply

