Zenith Bank PLC Humorous Scam

Posted: April 29, 2008 in 419 Nigerian scams, advanced fees scam, E-Mail fraud
Tags: , , ,

Now there is dumb and dumber, this one is in the dumber category. Mr. Godwin Emefiele asks “We need to confirm from you if it’s really true that you are dead and If we did not hear from you it automatically means that you are actually dead”. LoL, Wonder if this is a scam?

FROM THE DESK OF THE MINISTER:
Hon. (Mrs.) Doores Morgan
FEDERAL MINISTRY OF FINANCE
SECRETARY: Mr. Godwin Emefiele
5th Floor, Annex 3,
New Federal Secretariat Complex,
Shehu Shagari Way,
Central Area
Lagos – Nigeria .

Hello,

I am Mr.Godwin Emefiele, I work with ZENITH BANK PLC. I am member of the new appointed commitee for the FEDERAL MINISTRY OF FINANCE. I was directed to contact you by the Minister to urgently confirm from you if actually you know one Peter Woo who claim to be your business associate/partner in Nigeria . Mr. Peter Woo is claiming to us that you are dead and he will like to change all the Information’s that you gave to us as our bonafide beneficiary.

This development is coming now that the Ministry want to offset all your outstanding payments to all our legal foreign beneficiaries’ around the world in which your payment file was affected. As you may know, the total amount in your favor is a total sum of $12.5Million U.S Dollars. We need to confirm from you if it’s really true that you are dead and If we did not hear from you it automatically means that you are actually dead and the information passed to us by Mr.Peter Woo is correct.

You are to contact me through my email address as soon as you receive this message so as to know the true position of things with you so that we would not make any mistake in remitting your out-standing payment to a wrong person/account. Your swift response will help this ministry a lot. Do email me with your full names and direct phone number for an easy communication, your age and occupation to this effect.

Best Regards.

Hon. (Mrs.) Doores Morgan
The Federal Minister Finance (FMF).
PERSONAL SECRETARY: Mr. Godwin Emefiele

Comments
  1. ShiroiKishi says:

    I got an email VERY close to this one. I felt I needed to look up the bank to see if it was real. Thanks, for posting this, now I KNOW it was a scam!
    Also, this helps prove it was, if you are curious: http://www.zenithbank.com/warning.cfm

  2. gariell says:

    Shiroikishi,

    Thanks for your comment and reference. Rest assured that you have saved people from falling victim to this scam and that is a good feeling, the purpose of this site.

    Thanks,
    Gariell

  3. David George says:

    I also received a similar letter; my wife insists I should let them know I’m dead and ask them to please not bother me anymore.

  4. Louis Muhlenbruch says:

    Dear Sir,
    My name is Louis muhlenbruch, I live in Laredo,Texas. I am in contact with a miss Anna Maduka, who saids she is Director: Foreign Remittance Department. Sir I do have an Uncle Garry Hooks who lived in your area and died there. I was contacted about his death and was told he left 14 million. in account ZBNG01/678/3951. I have sent money to cover the wire transfer but now I am faced with the united nations wanting an insurance form.i order to transfer money to my account. This does not sound right, am I begin Scammed? If so I can send you all information on this Lady. I hope she is an employee for if she is not I have lost a lot of money, now they are trying to drain me of more. Please advise me if it is a scam. I thank you inadvance and please email me as I am getting threats from suppose un people. Please email me as soon as you can, it would save me much grief.
    Respectfully,
    Louis Muhlenbruch
    Laredo, Texas

  5. gariell says:

    Louis,

    You should report this to the authorities as soon as possible. One should never have to pay to receive an inheritance or prize of any nature. When sums of the nature mentioned above, any legitimate organization or institution will not use email as a chief form of correspondence. This is a scam and you should cut off all correspondence with the bottom feeders. Please read the Reporting Scams section for additional information.

    Gariell

  6. jeff burdue says:

    Good morning:

    I have been notified by Zenith Bank PLC an account has been opened in my name in the amount of $10,000,000.00 .

    Is this part of same scam, my account shows the 10,000,000 is in an account , a password and account no. given to me.
    Please reply and help me as this is making me crazy.

    Sincerely,

    Jeff Burdue / 1-816-525-8770

  7. '''''''''''''''dee says:

    Interested in #6 was it a scam for Mr.Burdue??

  8. gariell says:

    Jeff,

    Sorry to get back to you so late, but man, if you believe for one minute that this is not a scam; what can I say? If you had 1o million given to you just because you are a charming and wonderful guy will I will be damned!

    Gariel

  9. gariell says:

    dee,

    Let’s get real. Read the post and humour yourself.

    Cheers

  10. Clara says:

    To all of you that are about to be a victim of a scam as I was 2 months ago.
    Even now that I have lost 10.000 euros wich I didn´t have and borrowed from friends and family, Iam still leaving the worst of nightmares as I will have to find a way to pay back the 10.000 euros I borrowed.
    My name is clara and Iam from Portugal. Two months ago I have received an email saying that Zenith Bank was olding an accounnt in my name with USD 12.500 millions. They even sent me documents by mail with Zenith Bank logo, stamps and signatures. Everything looked real and I kept sending money to them to make sure I would receive this amount in my account.
    The agreement would be: Dr. Alfred Nanna would keep 60% and my share would be 40%. I even emailed him saying I would be very happy just with 10% and he could keep the 90%.
    First email was senr by Dr. Alfred Nanna, sudenly the bank director Dr. Andy Ojey was calling me greeting me about this fund in my name. ……I even went to Banks website to check board of Directors and there he was, a nice picture with his name above it.
    Well, altough I was feeling suspicious, All the mails that I have received after that looked real, they even start to call me using God´s name for this transation.
    Everytime I sent them more information, I kept questioning them and straight away they would send me more documents with bank logo, VAT services logo, international monetary fund, etc. Then, sudenly they started calling me day and night asking more and more money, otherwise I would lose not just the 12.500 millions but all the amounts I had sent so far. I didnt pay my rent, water and eletricity rates to send them money. In one day I even managed to get 5.000 euros from a person I had never seen before to make them the last payment (of course it would not be the last). They started asking USD 90 and in the end they wanted 125.000, can you imagine????? All the rest was and still be my nightmare. Finaly one day I couldn´t get it more and talked to a friend who her husband is a policeman and there it was! That was when I reallised all the documents where fake and I had just been scamed in name of God!
    For anyone who is getting this letters, I will bbe very happy to email you all the documents I have received and please don´t start sending them any amount because you will not be able to stop as the pressure is so hard you stop thinking by yoursef. My email is clara.anagua@gmail.com

  11. Clara says:

    For all of you that made comments such: ” I would never be a victim” look out for yourselves because right now or tomorrow you will be the next one!!!!!!

  12. gariell says:

    Clara,

    Real sorry that you got scammed by these bottom feeders, but rest assured that you are not alone. I personally know a few professionals that have been victims of these low lives. Their tactics are very well versed and there is nothing they won’t do to steal an honest person’s money.
    Thank you for sharing and you have helped save others from falling victim to these bottom feeders. I have had many readers tell me that I was wrong about these scams, but not one has written back to tell me that they actually got any money. Thanks again and it is good of you to pass the word around.

    Gariell

  13. carol says:

    to who it may concern i have a man by the name of mr.babatunde oni head of foregin operations whom is telling me if i dont send him 550 us dollard that i will spend a very long time in jail because he has documentation of a large sum of money and idont have documentation so for that reason iwill be in jail for a very long time and to tell you the truth im tired of these people from neigeria threating me they have been doing it since 2003 and im sick of it he keeps telling me i will have big trouble coming my way very soon if i dont send him the money i asked him to please leave me alone but it aint working i told him i will give the fbi im my country all the e-mails from his country but he does not care i guess i just want left alone is all can anyone help me please and thank you so much have a good

  14. MIKE MACIAS says:

    I MINUS WELL GET INVOLVED ON THIS SINCE I LITERALLY ALSO GET TENS OF THIS SCAMS IN MY EMAIL.
    THIS WILL BE MY CHRISTMAS GIFT TO ALL OF YOU AS TO HOW TO GET RID OF THIS PEOPLE IMMEDIATELY.
    SIMPLY TELL THEM THAT YOU ALSO HAVE AN ELECTRONIC BANK ACCOUNT AND THAT YOU WOULD LIKE FOR THEM TO MAKE THE DEPOSIT(S) INTO YOUR BANK ACCOUNT AS YOU ARE DOING THEM A FAVOR IN CUTTING DOWN IN THEIR SUPPOSED “PAPERWORK”.YOU WILL THEN SEE THAT THE MAJORITY WILL NOT BOTHER YOU ANYMORE.
    THOSE IN THE MINORITY WILL CONTINUE CONTACTING YOU SOLELY BECAUSE THEY THINK THEY ARE SMARTER THAN YOU ARE AND WILL TRY SOME OTHER SCAMS.
    SO GOOD LUCK AND BE CAREFUL.
    REMEMBER, IF IT SOUNDS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE, IT IS.

  15. gariell says:

    Mike,
    We find that the best way to deal with these bottom feeders is to ignore them all together. If no one responded tom their scams, well they would go out of “business”.

    Cheers

  16. Reena says:

    I have received a mail from a Mr Godwin Emefiele stating that there was a meeting with Mr Bankin Moon and that I was one of the victims in the scams and that there is 300 thousand US dollars at the bank of Zenenth at Nigeria and that I should forward the required information. I know this is a scam so if you receive a mail like that pleaseeee ignore it, I will never ever believe it even it was true.

  17. any thin show be in time of work.

  18. Alex Paredes Hernando says:

    Ditto. I am bombarded with similar e-mails
    every week. In fact I just received one this AM. 3rd World countries do not have that much money in their Banks in the first place. I
    usually report the scams to this address;
    spams@uce.gov
    Alex

  19. V.kiran shekar says:

    Zenith Bank Plc
    Plot 84 Ajose Adeogun Street
    Victoria Island, Lagos
    Tel : +234-8056-529-127 +234-8056-529-127

    Tel : +234-1-213-8763 +234-1-213-8763

    Dear Mr.Kiran Shekar.V

    How are you? I hope all is well with you and your family over there? I have made the necessary findings from different courier companies here for the dispatch of your check which worth $250,000.00

    Just in case you prefer your Cheque to be deposited into your bank account, the bank have said that you will need to send a cash transfer fees of USD$ 1,150 as your account is an international account and out side this country, but I still checked for the cost of the courier service so let me know your choice.

    Below is the cost of sending your check through any of these express courier services from here to your country.

    You are requested to send the necessary fees to enable me send your cashier cheque immediately and then you cash it from any bank of your choice. These are the preferred channels of delivery your parcel to you which I have confirmed it okay, these express diplomatic courier service is a diplomatic courier company that have a diplomatic license to deliver any Parcel/Consignment to any country with out problem and delay, so my dear you are to make your choice Asap:

    HERE ARE MY FINDINGS

    DHL delivery services:

    Mailing………………… ……… US$ 270.00 – 2 days to Deliver

    FEDEX

    Mailing………………. US$ 250.00 – 2 days to Deliver

    UPS

    Mailing………………. US$ 230.00 – 3 days to Deliver

    It is pertinent to note that this payment is not negotiable so select any of your affordable fee and send it through Western Union Money Transfer or Money Gram with this name stated below.

    RECEIVER NAME: PHILIP NDU
    ADDRESS : LAGOS-NIGERIA
    TEST QUESTION: WHAT FOR
    TEST ANSWER : GOOD

    As soon as you send the money send the MTCN digits control number and the senders name to enable my clerk pick up the money and I will dispatch your package immediately upon the confirmation of payment and forward the tracking number to you to enable you track your package on-line,Thats if you have chosen for me to send it through courier service, but if you have chosen that the cheque is been deposited into your nominated bank account then you will send the necessary fees(Transfer Fess) as stated above and the bank have assured that the funds will be in your account 30mins after the transfer fees of US$1,150 is received here.

    And be careful to make no mistakes in the receivers information above.I am looking forward to hearing from you with reconfirmation of your mailing information or bank information which ever one you chosen to avoid mistakes.

    Do get back to me as soon as possible with my phone 234-8056-529-127. l have been trying to reach you but your number was not going through ,so l will like you to go through the mail and make your choice.

    We are sending some cheques today, so l will like you to make your choice of the courier services that you will use and go immediately and send the money today.

    N/B;Below is a copy of your draft and l will like you to make up your mind as regards to the courier services company that you will like to use to receive your draft or you want to receive it through bank to bank transfer.

    My regards to your family.

    Remain bless.

    Mrs.Pamela Yough.

  20. steve says:

    So is he ded then or not cos I will have the muny

  21. Tinyemeka says:

    I get very amazed when I see the comments and stories posted by victims of these scams. And my question has always been: what did you do to warrant being paid even USD1M? How can a bank contact you out of the blues to tell you that they have so and so millions in your name which they’d “like” to reimburse? Did you have any prior relationship with the bank? And even if you did, how in any way is it related to the dynamics of the transactions which those fraudsters presented to you?

    It only takes greed for one to fall victim to the games of those kinds of fraud. The sooner you learn that, the better for you.

    Whenever you are in doubt as to the genuineness of any correspondence purportedly coming from ZB or any bank or company for that matter, do well to contact the company. Go the company’s site and look for their contact details. Verify that this matches with the details supplied from other sites as well.

    The MD of a bank cannot start writing an individual to request or give such person account information. There are so many lines of authority from ED to GM to Mgrs who are supposed to do that.

    Bottom line, stop being greedy.

  22. Anonymous says:

    These scams are designed to capitalise on the human emotion called greed.

    And the people who fall prey to these scams are greedy people who wish to reap where they did not sow. Serves all the ‘victims’ right! Would you not know if you had saved millions of dollars in some foreign account? And if your dead relative left you such a huge inheritance are you the last member of the family (even if you don’t want to share, at least verify your relative really is dead or at least attend the funeral). if you are not greedy, you will not fall victim.

  23. vicentina m c says:

    eu estou recebendo estes e-mail desde dezembro de 2011 cada dia vem uma estoria diferente e nomes diferente deleto tudo porque ninguem vai dar dinheiro de graça e tem mais gente voce ter que pagar para receber uma grana que dizem ser sua e brincadeira nao cai nisso fiquem esperto

  24. md. anisur rahman talukder says:

    quite like

  25. gariell says:

    Thanks for fine example.
    Gariell

Leave a Reply

